I have been thinking seriously about participating or not in The classics club since I knew about this initiative, and I have finally said yes! I am sure I will enjoy not only the readings but also the activities they organize.

classicsclub

My list has two parts: the first part includes the classics I already have at home, and the second part contains the books I don’t own but I want to read. Most of them have been originaly written in English but I will read them in Spanish because the way classic authors write is quite difficult for me to undestand.

So here we go.

Books that I have:

  1. Agatha Christie: Ten little niggers
  2. Agatha Christie: The murder of Roger Ackroyd
  3. Azorín: La voluntad
  4. Charlotte Brontë: Jane Eyre
  5. Dominique Lapierre: City of joy
  6. Edith Wharton: The house of mirth
  7. Emilia Pardo Bazán: Cuentos de amor
  8. Fernando de Rojas: Celestina
  9. Gabriel García Márquez: One hundred years of solitude
  10. George Eliot: Middlemarch
  11. George Orwell: Burmese days
  12. Jane Austen: Sense and sensibility
  13. Isak Dinesen: Out of Africa – Spanish review, English review
  14. Jorge Luis Borges: The book of imaginary beings
  15. Kurt Vonnegut: Slaughterhouse 5
  16. Lajos Zilahy: Century in scarlet
  17. Lajos Zilahy: The angry angel
  18. Lev Tolstoy: War and peace
  19. Marguerite Yourcenar: Memorias de Adriano
  20. Oscar Wilde: The picture of Dorian Gray
  21. Robert Louis Stevenson: Doctor Jeckyll and Mr Hide
  22. Sinclair Lewis: Babbitt
  23. Sinclair Lewis: Ann Vickers
  24. Umberto Eco: The name of the rose
  25. Virginia Woolf: To the lighthouse
  26. Virginia Woolf: Orlando
  27. Yukio Mishima: Ogaku

And the books I don’t have:

  1. Benito Pérez Galdós: La corte de Carlos IV – Spanish review
  2. Benito Pérez Galdós: El 19 de marzo y el 2 de mayo
  3. Benito Pérez Galdós: Bailén
  4. Benito Pérez Galdós: Napoleón en Chamartín
  5. Benito Pérez Galdós: Zaragoza
  6. Benito Pérez Galdós: Gerona
  7. Benito Pérez Galdós: Cádiz
  8. Benito Pérez Galdós: Juan Martín el Empecinado
  9. Benito Pérez Galdós: La batalla de los Arapiles
  10. Benito Pérez Galdós: El equipaje del rey José
  11. Edith Wharton: The age of innocence
  12. Edith Wharton: Xingu
  13. Grazia Deledda: Cosima
  14. Isaac Asimov: I robot
  15. Isaac Asimov: A short history of chemistry
  16. Margaret Mitchell: Gone with the wind
  17. Pearl S. Buck: The mother
  18. Pearl S. Buck: East wind, west wind
  19. Selma Lagerlof: Thy Soul Shall Bear Witness!
  20. Stefan Zweig: Three Masters: Balzac, Dickens, Dostoeffsky
  21. Stefan Zweig: World of yesterday
  22. Stefan Zweig: Marie Antoinette
  23. Stefan Zweig: Mary Stuart
  24. Stefan Zweig: Decisive moments in History

Notes:

I’m trying to read two National Episodes (Benito Pérez Galdós) per year, so that’s why there are ten books of this author in the list. By the way, I’m reading at the moment one of them.

Stefan Zweig is one of my favourite authors, so it was impossible not to include some of his books in the list.

Some time ago I read Arrosmtith, by Sinclair Lewis, who won the Pulitzer and then the Nobel Prize, and I want to read more books of him. Last year I wrote a review about Arrosmith, and I think I will post it in the blog; I liked this novel very much.

So I have 51 books to read from now to April 3, 2018. Wish me luck!

Other classics

Here I want to attach the classic titles that are not in the list but that I’m also reading in this period of time:

