Change of scenery

You must be wondering where I have been hidding for the last days, and it’s not that I have been far away from home, but certainly very far from my computer. Here is a short summary.

I have spent two days at the beach with my parents and my grandmother at the beginning of August.

We walked a lot, ate my mother’s tasty meals, swam a little in the sea and even we watched a horse jumping competition!

august 1august 2Then I went to my village, which is actually a small group of houses in a valley surrounded by beautiful mountains.

august 3There I had a lot of reading…

august 4… sunbathing…

august 5… and relaxing while I watched the beautiful scenery and breathed fresh air.

august 6After all this peace I’m ready for whatever comes next.

September book club

Allison and Rebecca have chosen Lead in, by Sheryl Sandberg, to read together in September. I didn’t know the book, but when I read the synopsis, I knew I had to read it:

Thirty years after women became 50 percent of the college graduates in the United States, men still hold the vast majority of leadership positions in government and industry. This means that women’s voices are still not heard equally in the decisions that most affect our lives. In Lean In, Sheryl Sandberg examines why women’s progress in achieving leadership roles has stalled, explains the root causes, and offers compelling, commonsense solutions that can empower women to achieve their full potential.

I think this book will bring up a lot of discussion, so don’t be shy and join the book club here.

The classics spin – 3

The classics club has organized a new classics spin. It can’t be worse than my first classics spin, so I’m participating again 😉

You have to choose 20 titles from your classics list (here is mine) and make a list with them. Next Monday a number will be chosen randomly and you have to read and review that especific book before October 1st (there will be a check point by this date).

Here is my list:

  1. Agatha Christie: The murder of Roger Ackroyd
  2. Charlotte Brontë: Jane Eyre
  3. Benito Pérez Galdós: El 19 de marzo y el 2 de mayo
  4. Dominique Lapierre: City of joy
  5. Edith Wharton: The house of mirth
  6. Emilia Pardo Bazán: Cuentos de amor
  7. George Orwell: Burmese days *
  8. Sinclair Lewis: Babbitt
  9. Kurt Vonnegut: Slaughterhouse 5 *
  10. Umberto Eco: The name of the rose
  11. Lajos Zilahy: Century in scarlet
  12. Robert Louis Stevenson: Doctor Jeckyll and Mr Hide
  13. Stefan Zweig: World of yesterday
  14. Virginia Woolf: To the lighthouse
  15. Isaac Asimov: A short history of chemistry
  16. Margaret Mitchell: Gone with the wind
  17. Pearl S. Buck: East wind, west wind
  18. Stefan Zweig: Three Masters: Balzac, Dickens, Dostoeffsky
  19. Edith Wharton: Xingu
  20. Oscar Wilde: The picture of Dorian Gray

* I have an English copy of these books. The rest are in Spanish.

Wish me luck!

***************

Hope you are also enyoing the summer (or the winter)!

