Tags

As I told you in my last post, I’m participating in Tanya’s Readathon but only for the last days, so I chose a short book in order to finish at least that one.

Review: The listener, by Tove Jansson

The listener Tove JanssonThe listener is a collection of short stories written by a Finnish female author called Tove Jansson. I had never heard of her before, but I saw that cover in a tiny bookshop window of my hometown – the only one where you can buy books in English, actually – and I knew I had to read it. I looked for further information on goodreads and, even though it is a short stories book (not my favourites), I decided to give it a try.

As it always happens, I liked some stories more than others, but the ones that focus on one character are touching; The listener, the first story, talks about a woman who makes her loved ones always feel special and comfortable by her side, but now she is older, her behavior suddenly changes, and that’s what a younger relative is telling us in the story.

All of them leave you with a feeling of sadness; you feel sorry for the characters and there are no happy endings, but they are beautiful in a way. Most of them are explicitly set in Scandinavian lands and the characters live alone in a small island, or they only know the time thanks to their watches, because it’s always dark in winter.

They are stories to read slowly by the fire when it’s cold.

Book scavenger hunt Mini-challenge:

This is the only mini-challenge I’m participating in, with tree categories:

mini challenge7. Book cover with a foreign country name or city in the title: Shanghai.

3. Book cover from one of your favorite books from around the world: New Zealand.

2. A book cover with a flag, map or people dressed in their culture’s traditional clothes: a woman dressed in ancient Rome clothes.

And that’s all. I would like to try Tanya’s challenge for next year, because I like the idea and the activities she prepares for us brave and traveller readers 😀

