I follow this section on Joy’s blog even though I don’t write a weekly post about exercising, but I feel like it now that the new year has just started.

2015

In 2015 I’ve been using my Polar watch (Polar V800), and I’m in love with it. It has everything I need (GPS, water resistant, etc.) and much more. I wear it 24/7 because it even tells me the quality of my sleep, but what motivates me more is seeing on the web the monthly agenda and statistics.

The last month on the web that Polar provides has been like this:

Polar Flow Isi

I’ve been exercising 4-5 days per week, mainly swimming and running, but I also do some strength and walking sessions from time to time.

The blue lines with the percentage are the “daily activity”: the watch knows when you are standing, walking or sitting and everything counts for the activity at the end of the day, not just the workouts. I’m tutoring a girl whose house is 4 kilometers far away from mine, and the days I haven’t exercised or I’ve made a low activity, I leave the car at home and go to her house by walking.

I’m also very happy because running has finally become a routine, and two months ago I even ran my first 10K race 🙂

The hardest thing when running has been the timetable: I like to exercise in the morning, but in winter it’s very dark outside until 8.15 am – at that hour it’s too late for me to go for a run and get to the office on time, and before that hour I can’t go to the park because it’s dark and I’m scared to be alone. So I began running through the city instead of in the park, and it turned out to be a great idea: I see the path, I’m not scared to death because there are always people in the street, and I can go as early as I want. So I’ll be a city runner until summer comes again!

2016

This year I want to continue exercising 5 times per week, at least for the first three months of the year. Then, I want to increase the amount, either more minutes when running, or more workouts; we’ll see.

I also want to achieve the 100% of the daily activity daily – It’s hard on weekends because I sometimes don’t leave home, but I have to try. It’s for my own good!

I have other two 10K races in mind this year, one in Spring and the other in Autumn and, in general, I want to keep on feeling healthy, active and full of energy.

Let’s go!

Sneakers Isi

Anyone out there with exercising goals for 2016?

