Tags

, ,

A few weeks ago one of the Spanish bloggers hosted an erotic fortnight: we had to read and review one or more erotic novels during 2 weeks and then we entered in two erotic book giveaways too, so I decided to read as many as I could in English. By the way, I didn’t win any of the giveaways.

First of all I have to say the book and the short stories were entertaining, but they are always the same: a romantic plot with sex scenes (like Fifty shades or Crossfire trilogy), or sex scenes without any plot, so until now I think that the only really erotic book I’ve read is The ages of Lulú, by Almudena Grandes, which I recommend.

Now I LOVE American football

Now I LOVE American football

The first book I read for the erotic fortnight was The perfect play, by Jaci Burton. This is the first novel of a series in which the main characters are sportsmen. Tara is an event planner and she is organizing a party for an American football team. The previous day of the party she gets lost trying to find the offices in the stadium and Mick Riley, the star of the team, who had just had a shower, appears half-naked and helps Tara to find her way. Later, in the party, they meet each other again – with more clothes on – and at the end they spend the night together in his hotel room – this time without clothes again, (hope you don’t get confused with the clothes thing). For Tara this was only an adventure because she doesn’t believe he wants a relationship with her since she is not a famous top model, and also because she has a teenage son to look after, but Mick really wants to stay with her.

That was entertaining and easy to read, without remarkable surprises in the plot except for Mick Riley’s amazing muscles and lots of money. As a friend of mine says, the characters of these novels are science fiction 😉 .

Score: 3/5

***************

With the thousands of books I have to read, I didn’t have time for another novel, so I looked for short stories in Amazon (there are always some of them for free) and I chose these ones.

valentine from a soldier

How do we know he is a soldier? How do we know she is an event planner???

Valentine from a soldier, by Makenna Jameison. This is also part of a series in which the main characters are soldiers or former soldiers. I really don’t know why I purchased this one because in Spain we don’t have any romantic ideas about soldiers or men in uniforms in general.

Well, in this case we meet Sarah, who works as an… event planner! This made me think seriously about my career: should I change it and become an event planner to have an absolutely amazing sexual life? Is there any event planner reading this? Could you, please, give me some advice? Thank you very much.

She is an event planner, I said, and she is working in San Francisco and she is travelling to Chicago tonight to go to her best friend’s hen party, which has been planned by Sarah, of course. But there is a snow storm and her flight is cancelled, so she has to stay in the hotel. She goes to the bar and there she meets Ryan, a soldier that has some free days and is travelling along the West Coast. They have strawberries with cream for dinner in her room and then the story begins.

Score: 3/5

***************

And the last short story I have read is Male nanny, by Jennifer Thomas (sorry I have no picture of the cover, but it was worse than the previous one). I purchased it because of the title, of course, and I found out that is just sex without a plot. A 21-year-old nanny – the kind of nanny who lives in the house he (or she) is working – the young mother of the boy he is babysitting and a husband who travels a lot because of his job. All I can say is this was repetitive: sex in the sofa, sex in the laundry room; sex here, there, etc. The absence of a plot has its consequences.

Score: 1/5

***************

Keep calm and read 20 books in English challenge: 3/20
Literary Exploration challenge: Erotica
